The Benches Reviews

10/10 - We can recommend days out canoeing, cycling, walking, using the pool everyday and hot tub every evening. - Rippon - August 2019

10/10 - The accommodation and facilities at The Benches was first class. The information provided and the whole booking process was excellent. We can recommend days out canoeing, cycling in the Forest of Dean and Abergavenny and Hereford. - Ward - August 2019

10/10 - All good. Can recommend walks along the river/bridges were great. - Rees - July 2019

9/10 - The Wye and the lovely views. We can recommend canoeing the Wye (full day). - Davey - July 2019

10/10 - The views & the beautiful house. - Whitehead - June 2019

10/10 - Fantastic property with everything you could need. Lovely ladies to welcome us and explain all the things we needed to know. Perfect. - Williams - June 2019

9/10 - Our third stay at The Benches and a little cooler this year but this enabled us to all enjoy the hot tub as it had been too hot to do that in previous years. - Walton - June 2019

10/10 - The four nights we spent at The Benches for a Cousins Reunion were wonderful. We enjoyed the whole experience; the setting above the River Wye is beautiful and the garden is a treat. The house is comfortable yet stylish and the fixtures and fittings are top quality. The Aga was fun to use. We made full use of the swimming pool and hot tub and ate outside a few times, even the outdoor dining chairs are so comfortable. We were fortunate with the weather and all agreed we could have been on the Italian Riviera, it was the best venue so far for our annual reunion. It was convenient to walk into Monmouth and also centrally placed for sight seeing. Thoroughly recommended. Circular walk along Wye Valley path at bottom of garden to Redbrook, stop for a drink at the Boat Inn. Cross road and follow Offa’s Dyke Path to the Kymin for spectacular views. Continue on path to reach main road. 7 miles. It is also worth walking across the iron bridge, along the path for a few hundred yards, and turning left on to the old railway viaduct. Lovely countryside scenes and view of the house. - Jones - May 2019

10/10 - Loved the views, location, walks along the river. The house was very comfortable and beautiful garden. We made use of the pool, jacuzzi and sauna. - Caccio - May 2019

9/10 - It is so well equipped with lots of storage but have to search for utensils, bowls etc and I am sure we put things back in the wrong places! Sorry. Stunning area - lots of places to visit. Group fun in the Hedge Maze- Kirk - May 2019

9/10 - Everything was catered for...great accommodation and service. - Hill - May 2019

9/10 - It was a lovely house with real character. It was very clean and well maintained by the very helpful house managers. It is perfectly located for many attractions and is an easy walk into Monmouth. The views from the house are stunning and the pool and hot tub were a real treat after a day out exploring. Brecon Beacons, Tredegar House, Forest of Dean RailwaySymonds YatClearwell Caves - so many places. - Daft - April 2019

10/10 - It was a magical family break, and a perfect way to celebrate my husbands 70th birthday. We can recommend a visit to Tintern and canoeing on the river. - Jennens - April 2019

10/10 - The house and situation is just perfect. The pool and hot tub kept our Grandsons busy all week. Two lovely friendly helpful ladies met us and showed us round. Loved being there...perfect for our celebration, with lots of space and excellent dining facilities. As we were so lucky with the weather, no improvement needed! Days out were not really needed as it was such a joy staying in this house with the pool and garden. Walking along the river footpath below the house was a real joy. - Sanderson - April 2019

10/10 - We spent most of our time in the property/ pool. We kayaked from Symonds Yat back to the house. That took 2 hrs and was great fun. - Sanderson - April 2019

10/10 - Everything about the house was wonderful - it was lacking nothing. Kitchen perfectly equipped, all bedrooms lovely - incredible to have all en suite. The hot tub was kept very clean as was the gorgeous pool. Even arranged stunning weather! The room under the pool did get very hot but there was option of a second air-con so in summer this would be needed. Mandy and her sister were absolutely charming and couldn’t have been more helpful. 100% all round. We just loved the view and enjoyed walking along the river. - Studd - April 2019

9/10 - We loved the house, the location and the facilities. Unfortunately, the last couple to arrive, when the other bedrooms had been selected, were not impressed with having the bath (and loo) effectively in their bedroom. It might be worth considering the possibility of screening it off, possibly with a curtain. Six of them played golf and enjoyed it, but I'm not sure where; not at The Rolls of Monmouth Club. Two of them played tennis somewhere. We all enjoyed the hot tub, and would have enjoyed the pool had we come later of the year. - Callaghan - March 2019

9/10 - Property great - no issues. It's awkward having to log into a website to get directions, details etc all the time. It's very hard to do on a phone which is when you really need to do it. Would be better to send arrival details in an email so that it's to hand. There was apparently a meeting booked at 4pm on the day of arrival which I had no idea about... so whatever the process is meant to be - it doesn't work very well! Maybe buried on part of the booking page - see my earlier point! :) - Barry - January 2019

Response: "All booking information is in one place and this is within the booking itself. This can easily be accessed with one click from the links on the emails which are sent through. This includes the Check In Information which gives all arrival and entry information just with one click from the notification email. All information is very mobile friendly so should be easy to view and access from a mobile." - Sleeps12

"Thank you for having us stay at the property! It was an absolute delight, you have really thought about the little things to make the stay so lovely." - Rofe - January 2019

"We had a lovely Christmassy week at your lovely property. The Christmas tree was beautiful and there were plenty of logs for a warm stay." - Tilling - Xmas 2018 

9/10 - Love the hot tub and beautiful views. - Kitwood - December 2018

9/10 - Everything was great. - Matthews - November 2018

"What a wonderful property you have there! We will certainly be looking to stay there again in the future." - Harding - November 2018

9/10 - Lovely Kitchen, Everyone loved the AGA! - Lyons - November 2018

"Thank you for allowing us to stay at the Benches it really was beautiful and we had the most perfect weekend we could’ve asked for! Mandy and Elisabeth were also brilliant from start to finish and they couldn’t be more helpful if they tried - please pass this feedback on! :) Thank you again for the most beautiful stay, it was perfect and completely faultless from start to finish!" - Clutterbuck - September 2018

9/10 - The atmosphere of The Benches is excellent and we all felt very much at home throughout our stay. Elizabeth made us very welcome and the introductory information was very helpful. (The chocolate cake soon disappeared - thank you very much). We did make a thorough search for place mats and napkins and did intend to contact Elizabeth but did not really wish to bother her, although she had emphasized that we should contact her if we needed anything. My fault entirely! The facilities, such as the hot tub and of course the swimming pool, were very well used, especially by the youngsters and the pool table and table football were in constant use. To put the icing on the cake the weather was great, thank you for organising this as well! Thank you for a great experience. - Aldersley - September 2018

9/10 - Lovely house for large family gathering. Lots of space for everyone. Mandy and Elizabeth very helpful. Marking the edges of the different levels of paving would make it safer as I fell and badly sprained my ankle. An outside shower would be an asset. Lovely local walks to Redbrook, the WineryMonmouth and the museum. - Davis - September 2018

10/10 - Lovely being able to walk into Monmouth - shame it is not available next August. - Friedenthal - Augusts 2018

8/10 - All ages enjoyed the hot tub- Gazzard - August 018

10/10 - The caretakers of the property were excellent and very helpful. - Simmonds - August 2018

9/10 - Lovely home, well maintained and very clean. Mandy & Elisabeth who care for the property were both genuinely friendly, kind & helpful. Communication that we had with the owner was also friendly and very helpful and all were really focused on ensuring we had a lovely time. The Benches is in a stunning location... to wake up to the verdant valley views & hear the river bubbling below was delightful. Morning tea & evening drinks on the terrace or balcony, taking in the views & atmosphere ... incredibly relaxing. Both pool table & board games were a hit. Healthy competition between the adults was in full flight that week!!  We were graced with the most glorious weather, so the pool was a fantastic asset to the property and enjoyed by all but the very oldest of our party. We hosted a dinner for one of our party during the stay & found the dining area lovely for our special evening & glass/crockery provision excellent. Really nothing to complain about. Everyone was pleased with their rooms & a great time was had by all. Would definitely book again if looking to come back to the area and have already recommended it to others. - McFadyen - July 2018

10/10 - We again picked the hottest weekend of the year (in 2017 we were there June 16th) so these comments only apply in very hot weather. The aga being permanently on makes the kitchen unbearably hot for the ‘chef’ me! and my husband and I use riverview, a lovely room, but again very very hot in this weather. We managed with the air conditioning but only just. We all love this house, the pool, the garden and the views, we are hoping to return at the same time next year, just need to find a date convenient for everyone. - Walton - July 2018

10/10 - Had lovely hot weather & parasol near the pool area would have been useful. The house, pool & hot tub were fantastic & what beautiful views you’ve got whilst enjoying your meals. We can recommend the lovely river walk. - Whitehead - June 2018

10/10 - Everything was perfect for us. The house was perfect, the views were outstanding. The pool was enjoyed by all. The jacuzzi was perfect way to finish the day!! We all had a wonderful time! The house was so beautiful, everything and more than we had hoped. The walk along the river to MonmouthRaglan Castle, the Steam Train, and the park with a miniature rail, was great for the grand children. - Lawson - June 2018

10/10 - We had an amazing time. The house is beautiful and perfect for a celebration get together. We were blessed with sunshine all weekend so made the most of the pool and outside space. Such amazing views and wildlife. As someone else mentioned, it would be nice to have towelling robes provided. Also the boys missed having pint glasses. Monmouth is a lovely town, everything there you need. Weather was perfect so we didn't go far. - Burge - June 2018

9/10 - Perfect family get together. Amazing house. Wonderful customer service. - Shrubsole - June 2018

We could not have wished for a better time at such a beautiful location. It was an absolute pleasure to be at "Benches" and enjoy such great surroundings. The garden, the house, the facilities and the location were all just perfect for us. The pool was used every day before breakfast by most of us (others preferred to be later swimmers) - our friends cycled all around the area including up to Symonds Yat, rode horses at the nearby Redbrook Equestrian Centre, walked along the river banks enjoying the views and especially to and from Monmouth. You have a wonderful house, beautifully appointed with a lovely homely atmosphere topped of course by Mandy and Elisabeth, the two lovely ladies who look after it. We have recommended it to other friends and colleagues and hope when they book it they have such a good time as we had. - Hodges - May 2018

10/10 - All good as usual with sleeps12.com. We can recommend walks along the River Wye bank and Tintern Abbey & village. - Payne - May 2018

9/10 - Loved everything about the property. Would have liked there to have been robes to wear. We stayed at the house apart from doing a walk. - Mouncey - May 2018

10/10 - The facilities provided are excellent. There in no need to go out to eat or drink - The Aga was like home from home - a beautiful dining room - fantastic views - swimming pool - hot tub - BBQ all add to the pleasure of being there. Highly recommended. We visited - Symonds YatRoss on WyeDean Forest Steam Railway, walks along the adjacent River Wye are breathtaking. Redbrook Equestrian Centre- Hodges - May 2018

10/10 - The house was perfect for 10 the friends. The views were to die for, the hot tubswimming pool, and sauna are great for a relaxing time if you don't want to go out. All together one of the best stays we have had. Slimbridge was a fantastic day out, we went to Raglan Castle that was interesting. The walk along the canal easy walking easy access from the property. Symonds Yat worth a visit.

8/10 - Property is in lovely location. It may not always be suitable for small children due to open staircase and steep garden. We recommend days out to Butterfly world and hedge maze and Clearwell caves. - Espley - April 2018

10/10 - Superb kitchen and dining area where all twelve of us could be together comfortably. Extremely well-equipped. Six very good ensuite bedrooms. Lovely, interesting gardens and stunning views of the river. The house was beautifully prepared, with great attention to detail. - Plant - March 2018

10/10 - Fabulous house with amazing views. Loads of space and great that each room has an en-suite. Panes Family - February 2018

9/10 - We particularly enjoyed the Hot tubsaunapool table and walks down the river. - Clowes Party - Feburary 2018

9/10 - The views from the property are outstanding and lovely to watch the wide variety of birds including ducks, swans, herons, owls, blue tits etc! There are numerous places to visit without having to drive miles away from Monmouth itself. Our wives loved being able to just walk into town. - Lawrence Group - February 2018

8/10 - We were given a comprehensive briefing on arrival - almost too much information to absorb. - Redrop Family - February 2018

8/10 - All of our group really enjoyed our stay at The Benches. We particularly appreciated: * the location, right on the River Wye;  * the hot tub;  * the spacious, modern kitchen; and  * the speedy repair of the central heating boiler. We highly recommend: Walk up to Kymin for a panoramic view over the area. Walk back from Whitchurch (near Symond's Yat) to Monmouth by the river, about 5 miles (you can get a No 43 bus out there from the bus station in Monmouth). Chepstow. Walks around Tintern Abbey. The riverside walks in Monmouth. We ate twice at La Piccola on Monnow Street and enjoyed it. Good coffee at Coffee No 1, also on Monnow Street. Madeleine's (behind the Town Hall) is an excellent backery. The Queen's Head for decent beer and a friendly landlord, The Punch House for somewhere smarter, and The Three Horseshoes (NB: currently closed) for the only pub in Monmouth that shows live satellite football. Good selection of local, independent shops, including the butchers on Monnow and the greengrocers on Church Street. - Seals Family - January 2018

10/10 - Myself and a group of friends stayed at The Benches for a weekend for my 30th Birthday. The house was amazing, so spacious and clean and fully equipped. Mandy and Elizabeth greeted me on arrival and showed me around the place. A birthday cake was a lovely touch, as was stocking the fridges with milk. I would most definitely come here again!  - Knox Party - January 2018

9/10 - Loved the well equipped kitchen plus 3 fridges was great! Enjoyed a trip to the Forest of Dean sculpture park; walked back to the house from Symonds Yat - a very pleasant 6 miles along the river Wye; trip over to Abergavenny worth it for the market plus a steep walk up Sugar Loaf if got the right boots etc! - Wiffen Family - January 2018

9/10 - Enjoyed our stay somewhere to hang all our coats would have been useful other than that we had a wonderful time. We also enjoyed the Puzzlewood and the Butterfly Farm.  - Foster Family - January 2018

10/10 - Our whole family really enjoyed their stay at The Benches - it has everything you could want for a large group/family get away. The Benches is a beautiful house in a stunning location. A warm welcome was awaiting us on arrival and it was easy to book through Sleeps12. Whilst we were there 6 of our family went to the Savoy Theatre in Monmouth which is the oldest theatre in Wales! - Ward Family - New Year 2017

10/10 - Fabulous property very well equipped and maintained, very friendly and helpful support staff . We were worried with the cold and snow it may not be aired and warm, totally needlessly as the log burners and central heating were superb. Fantastic experience for the whole weekend. We enjoyed days out to The Forest of Dean and walks around Staunton. - Marriott Family - December 2017

10/10 - The house was amazing.....the only suggestion I would make would be to provide more serving dishes in the kitchen. We cooked a big Christmas dinner while we were there and could have done with a few more serving dishes. The Usk Christmas Market was fab! - Harrison Family - December 2017

10/10 - The Benches is a wonderfully warm, social, and homely place, in spite of its size. The pictures don't do it justice! The hot tub on an icy morning and the views from the property were great. Recommend: Monmouth town centre and castle. Walk to Redbrook along the riverbank to The Boat Inn and/or The Bell Inn. Both are perfect for walkers and do good food. Tintern and the Abbey. Hard to think of anything that would have improved it. - Turvill Party - November 2017

10/10 - The kitchen was amazing, the hub of the house and used the most. Maybe knock through to kitchen. Most wonderful stay and will be visiting again. We would recommend a walk into Monmouth on the footpath. - Cowle Party - November 2017

10/10 - Everything was great, it was a lovely house beautifully done inside and out with lovely views and so much to see and do. We had fantastic weather and we all had a great time and a fantastic experience bringing the whole family together. We loved it so much we didn't go out! Thank you so much and thank you for the lovely chocolate cake. We would definitely come back again! - Stoner Family - October 2017 

10/10 - We absolutely loved it. The property was beautiful, so relaxing. Even though it was October we enjoyed the pool as well as the hot tub. We walked along the river to The Boat Inn, which was about 2 miles - Lovely! - Morgan Party - October 2017

10/10 - Amazing property - everything was perfect! - Maidment Party - October 2017

10/10 - Wow, Wow, Wow!! I was very fortunate to win your Facebook competition to stay at The Benches in Monmouth. We had a fantastic long weekend. The views and accommodation are absolutely stunning. The house is beautifully laid out for a big party. There is space for you all to be together, but also space to have quiet time away if needed. Thank you again.  - Laura - August 2017

10/10 - Mandy and Lis were real gems looking after us so well. Thanks for a lovely stay, we had a really lovely holiday and the location cound not have been better. The Wye Valley is absolutely beautiful. Thank you. Hopefully we can come back one day. The walk from Tintern Station to Tintern Abbey, Inspire Gorge Scrambling Experience and Canoeing from Monmouth past the house to Whitebrook are great activities to do during your stay. - Blunden Group - August 2017

9/10 - The swimming pool and the views were enjoyed. Visited Raglan Farm while we stayed.  - Johnston-Smethurst Family - August 2017

10/10 - Enjoyed the whole experience and as it was a celebration for my 60th birthday it was very special. We ventured out to Cardiff, Ross on Wye, Abergavenny and of course Monmouth town and we enjoyed each one. We also took a course of Archery which everyone enjoyed and our party was aged between 29-82! - Horridge Family - July 2017

NB: Anything mentioned in feedback which required attention and has since been rectified will be removed from the feedback so that future guests are not misinformed. - Sleeps12.com

More reviews for The Benches    Return to The Benches

HIDE