Foxcombe, Reviews

10/10 - I loved the property and have no ways it could have been improved. - Powell - June 2019

10/10 - The attention to detail at the property was incredible! They had everything you needed from pots and pans, to bin bags and kitchen foil. Televisions, speakers, sky tv, and plenty of room for everyone throughout the house. Would highly recommend booking through this company. Very close to Taunton and Dunster for days out. - Wright - June 2019

9/10 - Overall a great house. A few minor things could have made it perfect. 1. A tv in all bedrooms. My grandmother was in bedroom 5 as she was by herself and it’s the smallest room but it didn’t have a tv which she did miss. 2. My mum missed having a clock! 3. It was good that there were baths and showers but showers over the baths would have made it easier  4. Kitchen tap was not cold so we had to put bottles in the fridge or freezer as temp was very hot. - McDonals - June 2019

10/10 - Lovely relaxed stay for an extended family celebrating two 70th birthdays. Possibly an entrance from inside to the pool, especially because we had such bad weather (outside of everyones' control). We visited Steam train from Bishops LydeardTropiquaria Zoo for all ages especially the toddlers and younger people. - Pulley - June 2019

10/10 - This house was so well equipped. Beautiful inside. There’s nothing we could fault about it. - Geden - May 2019

10/10 - Spacious, clean accommodation with a very well equipped kitchen for a large family. The lady (Sue) who met us on arrival was particularly helpful. Dunster and the castle are lovely. - Khan - May 2019

10/10 - The swimming pool was a great success with all the grandchildren, as was the outdoor play area. - Milne - April 2019

9/10 - The barn layout was the best we have had and beautifully clean. The pool was not as big as we have had and it was cold at times, not that the children noticed! The ladies do like a chest of drawers with a mirror near a plug for hair and makeup. But that is being picky. We all thoroughly enjoyed the space and evan got to BBQ and eat outside. Yes we will be back. Many thanks. - Dick - April 2019

10/10 - One very small thing is as we had my elderly parents with us maybe a non slip shower mat would have been useful as they found the shower floor slippery and ended up using there non slip bed socks. - Jordan - March 2019

9/10 - Everyone loved the pool, maybe some chairs could be put in as we had to bring in some wet ones from outside. Beds were super comfy, kitchen was well equipped, showers were great. One of the bathrooms upstairs have flies coming through the vents and dead ones in light. Kids play area was a right state, trampoline was covered in tree branches and leaves. Curtian pole fell down in front room, we tried to fix but it had obviously happend before as all the fixings were hanging out the wall so called Sue and she sorted it for us. Sue was very helpful she also brought over scissors and drinks mats that were missing. Overall had a great stay tho thankyou. - Tolputt - March 2019

8/10 - Sue, the person managing the property was fantastic. - Moore Group - March 2019

We had a lovely weekend celebrating my fathers 80th Birthday. As I think you are aware, we had a problem with one of the ovens, which did not work. However, Sue went above and beyond to solve the issue, which would have been problematic as I was cooking a big four course meal. I should also perhaps mention that some of the party were disappointed that the table football was not available. - Moore - March 2019

6/10 - House very basic for price - deco seemed like someone had done bare minimum. Tv didn’t work in bedroom and blind falling down in bathroom. Lights also didn’t work in dining room, table football missing and just an empty space and oven had to be replaced during our stay. The house and furniture could be much, much nicer. Maybe more of a party house than somewhere to spend time with family. - Moore Group - March 2019

Response: "So sorry that the table football had been broken by previous guests and the new one did not get delivered on time but pleased that we managed to replace the oven so quickly." - Owner

9/10 - Bizzell - February 2019

10/10 - We really enjoyed spending time together as a family in your property for a 60th birthday. Everything we needed was in the property. The property and pool area is clean and well very well looked after. Would highly recommend. - Coulton - February 2019

10/10 - A beautiful house and perfect for a hen do! We had an amazing stay and would definitely return. Thankyou. - Bartlett - January 2019

10/10 - Just being there as an extended family. The pool was brilliant. - Meek - January 2019

10/10 - We spent a week at Foxcombe for Christmas and myself and my family had an amazing time. It was very relaxing and the children loved the pool, so much so they were often seen leaving their Christmas presents and begging an adult to go in the pool with them. Sue the housekeeper made us feel very welcome and on the day we were leaving she came to see me when we were dealing with a problem. Thank you for that Sue the support was appreciated. Wouldn’t hesitate to book again. - Priestley - December 2018

8/10 - It's a beautiful house, in a beautiful location. I understand that the swimming pool is being refurbished, but for now it's a bit of a let down. Also, the bathrooms were all freezing cold - I'm not sure why! Otherwise it was great, with everything you could need there, and a fabulous tree! - Esslinger - December 2018

10/10 - Foxcombe lodge was amazing! Every single one of us enjoyed the entire stay. The house is beautiful, it has everything you need x2. The pool was always very warm. Only negative if I had one is that the pool room maybe needs a bit of decorating. Thank you so much Sue for welcoming us. And thank you so so much for the cake! I ate most of it myself. I would love the recipe! - Selby - November 2018

Response: "Thank you for your feedback - the pool room is having a refurb in January 2019 so will look lovely and fresh."- Sleeps12

10/10 - Walk and enjoy the landscape. Enjoy the pubs and restaurants - excellent food and atmosphere - very friendly service. The Swimming pool was fantastic to have for our use only. The only negative experience was the heating not working for a day or so. - Wilson - November 2018

9/10 - Very spacious accommodation, bathrooms for every bedroom excellent! - Cartwright - November 2018

9/10 - The cottage provided us the perfect setting for a multiple family celebration. We stayed at the cottage, great for a large family and friend gathering.. perfect weekend. - Johnson - November 2018

8/10 - I thought the property was really well-equipped. We mostly cooked for ourselves and found a very well-stocked kitchen. The only gripe was that BT Sports is not available (which unfortunately is showing more and more of the football!) this meant getting a taxi (£80 return for 7 people) to Taunton to watch the games. We only took a trip to Taunton, which was good fun. - Kendall - November 2018

Response: "Foxcombe does have SKY Sports and Movies, but If you require BT Sport and have this facility at home, we recommend bringing a laptop/device that will enable you to stream it onto the TV at Foxcombe." - Sleeps12

10/10 - The pool was enjoyed by everyone. The open plan worked particularly well for our group. - Barnard - October 2018

9/10 - Loved the pool!!! Please can you sort out recycling? Also hairdryers would help. - Taylor - September 2018

9/10 - All of us loved the swimming pool. It kept the children amused for hours. The only criticism we have is the hob was not very efficient. - Walsh - September 2018

10/10 - Beautiful property, with beautiful surroundings! Highly recommend. - Bernhard - September 2018

7/10 - Disappointed to find both dishwashers not working on arrival. No privacy glass in bathrooms so as blinds were permanently down they were dirty from soap/toothpaste splashes. Double door in pool unusable making it difficult to include people outside. The roller blinds need to have child friendly winders on them especially in the bedrooms. Coverings on long windows by tv would be nice as we felt very exposed in the evenings. - Sheppard - August 2018

8/10 - Generally v good with everything working as it should including BBQ . Having 2 dish washers was great......but ........... 1. no shaver/toothbrush charging points in bathrooms (partly solved by Sue getting some adaptors to go into main sockets in other rooms). 2. No shower bottle/soap trays in showers. 3. Not happy about play equipment being tucked away in a dead area round the back of the lodge which made child supervision a problem + overlooked ground floor bedrooms + bathroom. All other lodges had play equipment at front of lodge. Not the best overall plot layout but suggest play equipment moved to the large grass area at side of swimming pool where it can be viewed/supervised from sun chairs/bench/family room at front of lodge (and does not overlook downstairs bedrooms/bathroom). - Bellwood - August 2018

7/10 - Can recommend days out to the Steam RailwayBishops Lydeard water mill and museum. Excellent. Loved the pool Obscured glass in downstairs windows please. Chest of drawers ditto. Mirrors near power points. Replacing washing machine, tumble dryer. Improving curtains and cushions in living area to baffle sound and to look more welcoming. - Greenhalph - July 2018

9/10 - Everyone enjoyed the inside pool. Lovely peaceful surroundings. Can recommend the Bishops Lydeard to Mineheadsteam train ride. - Johns - July 2018

8/10 - The property was nice and clean. A lot of flies perhaps a screen for some of the doors so you can have them open and stop the flys. If you have teenagers like we did then the internet connection needs to be updraded. - Waker - July 2018

9/10 - Larger bedside tables that could accommodate clothes. - Hill - June 2018

8/10 - Swimming pool was great for everyone. Could do with seating for those watching. A gate stopping toddlers getting to play area would be good as it was out of sight for the main garden. Watchet and the Steam Train to Minehead are recommended days out. - Shiers - June 2018

10/10 - Great house, garden was lovely and plenty of seating for all 14 of us. Bedrooms were very nice and comfy. Horse riding at the nearby stables. - Rocha - June 2018

10/10 - Very clean and spacious. Wonderful place to stay. We can recommend days out to Kilve and Dunster. - Crutchley - June 2018

8/10 - We all enjoyed the pool, rooms on the ground floor were excellent for my great nephew with wheelchair. You are close to the coast and great beaches. - Harding - May 2018

10/10 - Lots to do in the area. Family went to Minehead for a day. Watchet nice harbour and tea rooms, steam railwayClark's Village for shopping. We were pleased that the house and pool were very clean. - Black - May 2018

10/10 - We can recommend nearby walks in the Quantocks. - Henley - Mat 2018

10/10 - The layout of the lodge was perfect - open space and the doors all opened to incorporate the garden and pool into the living area. The pool was a good size (though it did look bigger in pictures) and was warm enough - covering it when we weren't in it helped keep it warm. The outside dining table and sunloungers were perfect - it didn't matter if the people in our party wanted to sunbathe, sit at the table, swim or watch tv - we were all in the same space and felt together. The only thing that could make it better was that the cold tap in the kitchen was never cold - it was always lukewarm. We put ice in everything to solve this but it would be nice to have cold water from the tap sometimes. We would definitely go again and can't wait for our next sleeps12 property! - Henley - May 2018

8/10 - Hart - May 2018

9/10 - One of the ovens needs replacing. The hob needs to be gas. Could do with locks on bedroom doors. One of the banisters on stairs is loose. Swimming pool area needs decorating. We recommend visiting Sheppys Cider Farm and Watchet Harbour. - Murton - April 2018

9/10 - The house was very well equipped can’t think of anything it was missing, great property loved it, only negative couldn’t get bedroom tv’s to work. We can recommend a day out to Tarr Steps- Leicester - April 2018

10/10 - It is a fantastic place, caters well for all and the poolwas a big hit with all. We visted Watchet - Lovely harbour and great walk along fossil beach. Dunster - wonderful castle and good town for a wander. Better grater and knives in kitchen. Very small negative but when there is a house of cooks, its frustrating. - Poole - March 2018

10/10 - Great accommodation and fantastic communication and welcome from Amanda.- Brickell - February 2018

9/10 - The property was fab, no issues, maybe the only negative was the underfloor heating slightly too warm and hard to control. Wright Family - February 2018

10/10 - The house was fabulous, The living area worked well for our group of 12 girls. Having a poolwas a fabulous bonus! - Sawyer Party - February 2018

10/10 - We enjoyed our stay very much the property was very well designed and the little extra touches made all the difference. The pool was lovely. We will definetly be returning. - Summerson-Watson Family - February 2018

10/10 - We enjoyed our stay. We recommend Porlock for a day out and walking across the marshes. - Thorne Family - January 2018

9/10 - Chalet was very well equipped loved all the bathroom facilities double dishwasher and kettles, property manager very friendly and helpful. My only recommendation would be pool towels. - Hunt Family - January 2018

10/10 - We had such a wonderful time at the house. From the original enquiry and booking with Sleeps 12 and the meet and greet by Amanda it all ran so well with no issues. The house was everything we wanted and more. The space was just right for our group and the open planned communal area was just perfect for all of our antics from food to a few hen party games. The bedrooms were all spacious and ideal with a bathroom each. The pool was just wow and was used and enjoyed by all we just wished it was a little warmer outside for us to enjoy the house to it’s maximum potential and open up all of those gorgeous doors. Thank your to Sleeps 12 and Amanda it truly was a weekend for the memory box. We have no negative comments to make as we all enjoyed the house and the weekend! If you are looking for a house to celebrate in this is most definitly the house the book! - Rigby Party - January 2018

9/10 - The property is clearly very modern and superb and the facilities excellent. Seems picky to mention but the downstairs rooms do need a chest of drawers as a dumping ground rather than having to scrabble around on the floor. And the ladies found the distance from power source to the mirrors difficult when looking after their hair.  - Bryant Group - November 2017

9/10 - Lovely accommodation. Very clean and spacious. Baths upstairs could have fixed showers. Had to share a shower between 6 of us as only had hand held showers over baths. WiFi could do with a booster too. Other than that no complaints. Lovely. We would recommend days out to Cheddar Gorge and Dunster Castle - Dowinton Family - October 2017

8/10 - We used the outdoor space this time around and the BBQ was of a very good quality. We would recommend a trip to Dunster Castle too. - James Family - October 2017

10/10 - Having grandchildren with us the swimming pool was a great hit. Foxcombe was a bit short of mugs absolutely plenty of everything else but with lots of people and two dishwashers (brilliant) more mugs would have been good. Mirrors near plug socket for hairdryer in downstairs room (I didn't try upstairs). But saying this we had a brilliant time would recommend to anyone and hope to return and had a lovely time on the Steam Train from Bishops Lydeard to Minehead.Great afternoon in Watchet and brilliant service from Clay shooting at Birds Hill Days. - Pope Family - October 2017

10/10 - The property was absolutely stunning! We were all discussing other occasions we could return for! The spacious living area was perfect for our family break for my husband's 30th Birthday! Thank you! - Wells Party - September 2017

10/10 - Very well equipped and extremely comfortable beds. Thank you for an unforgettable 70th birthday! - Andrews Party - September 2017

9/10 - The children loved the play area, especially the trampoline. The swimming pool was great, the temperature of the pool was nice and warm. We'd recommend a day out to West Somerset Railway as the kids and adults throughly enjoyed it! - Crickmore Family - September 2017

9/10 - Layout of the house was great for large groups, and plenty of seating to accommodate all. Where the bathrooms only had a shower head over the bath it would have been improved if the shower head could have been hoocked to a bracket on the wall so could stand/kneel under the shower. - Jones Family - August 2017

10/10 - The house was so well equipped with plenty of everything. Having en suite bathrooms made such a difference, really great. Pool was so nice and warm. Maybe a table tennis table or something might have added to the garden or a pool table upstairs. Otherwise all good. We'd recommend a trip to Dunstersteam train and castle too! - Morris Family - August 2017

10/10 - The experience was great!! Enjoyed the whole weekend with the work lot. Coming back with family 100%! We went on an adventure day nearby. It was a lot of fun zip lines and climbing. - Kartaviciute - Work weekend - July 2017 

10/10 - The swimming pool was one of the best things - great temperature. The big living room was very comfortable and with space for everyone. We enjoy listening to music and eating all together at the big table. The bathrooms were extremely clean and we fell in love with the property! We went for an adventure day to Vivary Adventure and High Ropes Centre. It was amazing! Very exciting activity to enjoy with friends or family. - Garcia Family - July 2017

10/10 - We were a 3 generation family with birthday celebrations. The room layouts etc suited us perfectly and the house made it all possible. The weather was brilliant so we used the swimming pool rather than going out! - Baker Family - June 2017

9/10 - We really enjoyed the house with the children, pool was excellent, we thought it was really well equipped and struggled to see how you could improve on it! Many thanks. We had a wonderful day out in Dunster - kids aged 4 - 8 really enjoyed the Mill and archery in front of castle. - Gaisford Family - June 2017

10/10 - We absolutely loved everything about the accommodation. Everything was spot on. - Chunga - April 2017

10/10 - Absolutely perfect. Amanda greeted us on arrival and was super helpful. Foxcombe was a brilliant place to spend time with our growing family, really well equipped & well thought out, it had everything we needed. The children adored the pool which was really warm. We would love to come again. With both the Quantocks and Exmoor close by there are some amazing walks. We also enjoyed the steam railway. - Mason - March 2017 -

10/10 - Adams - March 2017

10/10 - The house and pool was a joy. So clean and welcoming. We stayed in the property and used the pool so did not feel the need to have days out although we had little walks around the surrounding area. - Warren - Feb 2017

10/10 - The trip was booked for relaxation but we did complete some walks on the Quantock Hills. Everything was perfect, just what we wanted. - Mallows - Jan 2017

10/10 - We loved the house. - Kuras - Dec 2016

Lovely weekend, well kitted out and excellent facilities. Great pubs and catering service.  Enjoyed by all.  See you again! Jones Family 

The lodge is second to none. A perfect place to have a holiday with friends and family in the UK. Mr Cutler - Lowestoft

Thank you for a wonderful weekend- it was our pleasure to be your first guests and hope our future holidays are as much fun as we had here. A fantastic house with great entertainment. Mrs Cherrett - Bournemouth

We have had a fantastic weekend. Foxcombe worked perfectly for adults and children alike. Very generous space and we needed longer than a weekend to make proper use of all the fantastic facilities. We didn't want it to end. Caroline Yates's catering was superb. Beautifully presented and delicious food with friendly, discreet seamless service. We were all delighted. It made our family celebration weekend for Grandad's 70th birthday extra special. The walking on the Quantocks direct from Foxcombe is superb, especially as we enjoyed such fabulous October weather. Mrs Ruston - London

NB: Anything mentioned in feedback which required attention and has since been rectified will be removed from the feedback so that future guests are not misinformed. - Sleeps12.com

Return to Foxcombe

HIDE