10/10 - The house was absolutely gorgeous and Tammy was so welcoming! The 12 of us all day a massive big thank you for making my 40th the best weekend ever!! - Hancock - November 2019

9/10 - We loved the pool. Comfy beds. Lots of pots and pans. - Thorpe - November 2019

9/10 - Goldsmith - November 2019

10/10 - Twining - October 2019

8/10 - Really enjoyed the Castle at Dunster, the house was lovely but just needs a few things repaired like the shower in room 2, the door on the main oven, the door in bathroom 1, and most of all get the electrical testing done which is 3 months out of date. - Legg - October 2019

Response: "The electrical PAT testing is all up to date at Crowcombe as with all our properties with certificates held at our offices." - Sleeps12.com

8/10 - The pool was great. The property needs a little TLC the shower rooms particularly got flooded too easily and some fans to be provided as the long bedroom in particular got very hot! We loved having 2 dishwashers. We can recommend days out to Brean adventure park - theme park something for everyone. Wimbleball lake and countrypark. Burnham On Sea for a beach date rockpooling at Kilve. - Coleman - August 2019

9/10 - The indoor pool was wonderful as it was a little cool for outside swimming. The layout of the house suited us very well and everyone had plenty of space. Overall a lovely week away and we will remember your site for the future. Just one small niggle, there was nowhere to put toiletries in the bathrooms. Just a shelf would have been handy. Fyne Court NT area just 15 mins away was a wonderful day for all the family just to get out, walk and let the children blow off steam. For a more formal, but equally as good NT property, Dunster Castle is not to be missed, especially on Wednesday and Sunday when you can try archery or pistol shooting. The West Somerset steam railway from Bishops Lydeard to Minehead is a great Day out. The children thoroughly enjoyed Diggerland. - Elliott - August 2019

7/10 - We loved the pool and large dining area. The basic appointments were well covered off e.g. cutlery, TV, dishwashers etc. These are not moans but constructive feedback that should be put right for future guests: As regards being told there was shower gel, only one small (hotel size) bottle was provided and enabled one person one shower. So we purchased some. There was insufficient hangers in the wardrobes. The fridge leaked water. The bathroom at the front of the property has no shelf or cabinet to place toiletries. - Gaskell - August 2019

9/10 - We visited Minehead and Watchet and would recommend both of these, Minehead is better for families and Watchet for couples. We also visited Blue Anchor which was nice for a short visit. The house was lovely, pool was used to the maximum by the children. The rooms were spacious and beds were comfortable. The kitchen area, although not the biggest is big enough. I would recommend a new oven, the seal is broken on the current one and could do with replacing and adding a bigger one. The hob could also do with replacing, to a bigger one, cooking for 11 people was sometimes a strange. The fridge also needs looking at as it does leak at times, a large fridge freezer would work much better. Overall the accommodation was excellent, plenty of space, good swimming pool, comfy beds and in a lovely location, not too far from towns/attractions. - Wall - August 2019

10/10 - Loved the pool. Welcomed the complimentary wine and cake. Only there for a weekend but enjoyed an afternoon in Watchet with harbour and quaint streets. - Ormiston - July 2019

10/10 - This property was very well laid out and had everything you needed the only thing I thought that could improve it was more hanging space for clothes and cushions on garden furniture my stay was excellent and I would recommend this property to friends and family and will definitely be coming back. - Selvey - June 2019

10/10 - Property was immaculate, good facilities, use of private pool. We did raft building at Blackrock Activity Centre Bridgwater. - Tory - June 2019

8/10 - Re rating - everything excellent downstairs and comprehensively appointed. However, wall slopes on upper room areas/bedrooms , not entirely adult friendly. Walls/ ceiling could perhaps do with painting different colours to stand out from each other and thus prevent some headbanging. 
Greatly enjoyed the pool and BarBQ. Sadly the weather was poor (overcast and rain) for most of our stay). Roads/Lanes are narrow with high hedgerows and no pavement areas, so precarious for walking especially with dog. Thus details of one or two walking trails, closeby, would be helpful. 
Overall, very comfortable for the 7 (plus dog) of us. We had a great time and would do it again, sometime.
 - Dines - June 2019

9/10 - Spa day by Lucy Berner's team - great. Excellent meal by Gayla Stewart. Parking was a bit tricky when we had these external people in. Found local park up the road in West Bagborough for the children, which was in very good condition - looked quite new. - Kilgannon

10/10 - Great accommodation, garden and pool perfect for the children. - Davis - April 2019

7/10 - This property was a lot smaller than other sleeps12 properties I have stayed at and the pool was much smaller in size too. I think your floor plans should give some indications of size as the photos alone are misleading. - Hargunani - April 2019

Response: "All pool sizes can be found under the property information with room sizes within the accessibility statments." - Sleeps 12

10/10 - Wine, cake, tea and coffee all provided and very welcome. Very clean and comfortable for 12 ‘oldies!’ After a bracing walk in the wind and rain the swimming pool was a delight. Excellent venue. Thank you. - Cornell - March 2019

9/10 - Couldn’t find the pin for sky to watch movies. And the code we were given was incorrect. Shower temperature in the room with four beds wasn’t working properly. Pool table needs a bit of TLC. Loved the swimming pool and the layout of the property. Plenty of cooking equipment as well for some master chef style food. - Fell - March 2019

8/10 - The house was lovely, just couple of small things. The steps into the pool were loose and the showers in the upstairs rooms were warm rather than hot. Other than this, the house was well equipped and we had a very comfortable stay. - Gillingham - February 2019

10/10 - Everything was as exspected. Tim who met us was charming, informed us of anything we needed and places to visit. The rooms are spacious, bathrooms beautiful, the kitchen has everything and the dinning room and lounge Sat all of us x. - Montomery - February 2019

10/10 - Everything was brilliant. The house was perfect for a hen weekend away. The pool was lovely and warm and the facilities were fab. We would highly recommend and would come again. - Burgess - January 2019

8/10 - We were told that there would only be one travel cot and one high chair in the property and there were 2 of both which was fine but we had bought another set. Maybe the information in the booking could be more accurate. The pool was lovely, but a clock on the wall would be useful. There were no oven gloves in the kitchen which would have been useful. Some of the showers were leaking a bit into the bathroom floor. Room 1 and 2 specifically. The accommodation was great. It pretty much had everything we needed and there were no major problems. - Chapman - January 2019

8/10 - Fantastic stay with 3 generations making great memories. Very clean throughout, plenty of space, comfy beds, well equipped kitchen and the kids loved the pool!! Improvements - steps down into pool wobble/screws missing from pool steps, one of snooker cues has no end, temperature in shower of bedroom 6 too hot and could not be controlled but child staying in there used a different shower, shower height could not be adjusted in bedroom 2 (small things which owner probably not aware). Other idea could be making one of bathrooms disabled friendly for elderly guests e.g grab rail in shower and near toilet. Had a fabulous time though and would stay again- thank you!!! - Pontin - January 2019

9/10 - Crowcombe was beautiful and with it's size we weren't tripping over each other. We did miss the turning as it was pitch black and 'The Coombes' sign could do with being on a white background. But wasnt a real issue. The rooms were warm and comfortable. Bathrooms were lovely but we had a few issues with the shower and hot water in room 5 and 6 not coming through after others had showers. Also heads did not sit properly in holders or holders didn't stay in place, either dropped down or spun up to spray ceiling. Cake and wine was very thoughtful and went down a real treat. Not sure if it is done as the norm or that it was my birthday. But as said. Very thoughtful. Great that our little dog could come with us. Children's well catered for. We made full use of the pool both days. Lovely and warm. 
We just had a brilliant family time. Thank you and we would all come back without question.
- Jewell - November 2018

8/10 - White - November 2018

9/10 - House keys need labeling as we took keys out with us in separate groups. 3 of us had to sit by the pool and wait. So glad it had a toilet! Tammy, the housekeeper, was extremely helpful every time we called or saw her. - Duncan - November 2018

Response: "We encourage groups to replace the keys in the key safes provided so that all members of a group have access at all times". - Sleeps12

8/10 - You always replied to my emails straight away. Questions were answered promptly. And you gave us an extra week to pay the balance. Not forgetting the call picked up by Jess at 16:46 on the Friday as we arrived in West Bagborough a little confused as we couldn’t find the lodge. Jess reassured us and directed us in. Stayed on the line until we found it. Very friendly and very patient she was. It was such a relief to finally get there. - Hill - October 2018

10/10 - The lodge was lovely & the pool was great especially for the kids. Sleeps 12 were very helpful with directions & Tim was very helpful & friendly when we first got there. - Hill - October 2018

10/10 - A great walk up on Lydeard Hill which is just up the road. AND...it’s free. I think a snag form for tenants would be good. I left a list of small faults that the owner won’t know about if a tenant doesn’t have a forum to do it. These weren’t complaints, just minor inconveniences such the bulb in the oven wasn’t working, kitchen tap drips and the dishwasher basket needs replacing as the cutlery falls through the holes. Hope this helps. - Sharpe - October 2018

9/10 - We can recommend days out walking in the Quantock Hills. Awful smell of drains but I think this is temporary as the owner is dealing with it. Otherwise it was a great place for a family celebration with children. Enclosed safe garden and pool. - Kerr - September 2018

9/10 - Property was perfect for us. Large well equipped kitchen with huge amounts of crockery & cutlery. Lounge was very comfortable with perfect size TV. Bedrooms were all large with nice quality bed linen & tv in every room. The toddler bed & baby cot we’re high quality with good clean mattresses. The swimming pool area was clean & warm but there were areas of flaking paint in 2 or 3 areas which could easily be tidied up. The 5 older children really enjoyed the trampoline & the outside area & we all enjoyed having the BBQ available. On arrival we were a little concerned to see caravans parked quite close to the property but we didn’t hear or see anyone during the whole of our stay. It was nice to meet the owner Tim when we arrived..... thank you for a lovely stay. Twigger family Paignton - September 2018

8/10 - The doors to the patio need attention, they are very stiff. There were no batteries in the kitchen scales. The toilet door in the pool room does not shut. The seal on the oven door is broken. There is a wheel missing on the dishwasher making it very difficult to use when full. The freezer drawer is broken. When you pay this much to stay in a property you expect it to be perfect. - Mannay - August 2018

Response: "Thank you so much for letting know, this has now all been fixed with the doors booked in for 10th Sept to be eased." - Owner

9/10 - The house was everything we wanted and well equipped. Only one minor niggle that thet was only one clothes dryer!! Would definitely recommend to family and friends. Can recommend a day out to Woolacombe Beach. - South - August 2018

8/10 - We thought the property very good and well equipped.The only downside was the plastic play slides were dirty and broken lots of flies which was probably the extreme weather we have been having. We did have a lovely holiday there. Animal Farm Red Road Berrow Burnham-On-Sea Somerset, TA8 2RW. Was a lovely day out for children six and under. - Hambleton - July 2018

7/10 - We agreed with a previous reviewer that this is not as nice as the other property we have stayed at in your portfolio. We were a small party of 6 but for larger parties the kitchen facilities/fridge/freezer would be very inadequate. The fridge and freezer are smaller than the American style one we had at home. We felt the outside of the property was a little shabby and there was a distinct lack of privacy. It was quiet but we were surprised by the surrounding caravan site and the lack of privacy on the patio, you are fully exposed in your swimsuit to all passers by. We were constantly told off by the local farmer for walking the dog on or near his land even though the owner had told us we could go there. On the upside, there was plenty of hot water, comfortable beds, nice linen and the pool was lovely. With a few tweaks this could be a stunning property but it needs a little refinement and a touch more honesty on its location. - McKenna - July 2018

7/10 - Loved the living space and the beds were large and comfy and the pool was just great. 
However, the overall appearance was a bit tired and the outdoor area was a bit limited with no loungers and no really comfortable seating. The kitchen was a little small for the size of the property unfortunately and the freezer could have done with being a bit bigger. The two large frying pans did not fit together anywhere on the hob, very difficult for breakfast! We were a smaller party than the total occupation so I imagine cooking might be tricky for a full compliment. There were no instructions in the handbook about dog walking and the farmer who owned the caravan site opposite turned out to be very touchy about ‘the chalets’ as he termed them, using any of his land.
- Westwood - July 2018

7/10 - We enjoyed the countryside feel of the area as it’s very quiet and rural. We enjoyed the swimming pool where we could access anytime. The house is very cozy and have lovely rooms with ensuite though 2 of the rooms have a very strong smell of the sewage and occupants hardly stay in their rooms due to the strong smell. Also it would be more enjoyable if we had a jacuzzi as an alternative luxury activity from the pool considering the price that we paid. - Uy - July 2018

9/10 - Not enough large glasses and for 12 could do with another fridge. - Stephenson - June 2018

6/10 - On a positive note it was clean and comfortable. Lovely pool. I’m afraid we were quite disappointed with Crowcombe compared to all of the other four sleeps 12 properties we’ve stayed in. On a less positive note the outdoor furniture was v poor. Our elderly relatives could not get in or out of the chairs. They were all made of plastic and all tilted backwards making them extremely uncomfortable. Other properties we’ve stayed in had wooden chairs and loungers provided. Inside there was only one fridge for 12 people. Other properties had two. The cold tap for water was very warm and not suitable for drinking. We had to buy bottled water. The bathrooms were very nice but no soap was provided which was very poor. In addition there was no cleaning brush in the kitchen and very few tea towels. I was also shocked how close it was to the other properties. The neighbours fire works were practically in our garden and terrified our dogs for hours. So sorry to be negative but it was so disappointing compared to your other houses. - Clark - June 2018

10/10 - Beautiful property, clean and very well equipped. The swimming pool was an added bonus. Very generous welcome gift of cake and wine. Added extras of tea, coffee, sugar, dishwashing tablets to name a few were appreciated. The play area was ideal and the garden was secure for small children. My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only downside was that the property was a little too far from amenities unless you were driving. Would recommend this property to friends. Thanks for a wonderful stay. We can recommend days out to Paignton, Brixham and Torquay. - Beaman - June 2018

9/10 - The chalet was very nice and had everything you needed. But there was a bad smell of damp or drains inside and outside of the property one of the upstairs bedrooms was even worse and smelt of drains, very strong smell. A few more cups would be an improvement as a party of 13 we obviously did use them quickly and was continuously putting them for a wash. Our overall stay was very nice. - Kenney - June 2018

7/10 - Wren - June 2018

10/10 - We stayed at the cottage for most of the weekend we were there. We did travel to Blue Anchor Beach was an interesting place to visit with great view especially when the steam train travelled past. Check the tide times as it goes a long way out and exposes the mud - ok if you remembered wellies but trainers will get ruined! We had a lovely walk around the canals in Taunton which was a pleasant surprise. Everything was perfect. We will be back and have recommended it to all our friends. - Crowcombe - May 2018

9/10 - We booked the property for my mother's 90th birthday celebration and particularly the pool was the main attraction to keep the grandchildren amused. Unfortunately when we arrived the pool temperature was too cold for it to be used. The manager, Pauline, found there was a fault with the controls and she worked very hard to get someone out to rectify the fault, eventually the owners father-in-law was able to solve the problem on Saturday afternoon and after heating up overnight the pool was fine to use on Sunday. So, at least we had one full days use if the pool. - Pitkin - April 2018

9/10 - Lovely, well-equipped cottage with well thought out spaces. We visited West Somerset Railway to Watchet. - Lawrence - April 2018

More reviews for Crowcombe

HIDE