Culmbridge House Reviews

10/10 - I can honestly say that this holiday was everything and more! The highlights I guess were the two barbecues, used them both as the weather permitted. We all loved the pool, went in every day and the sauna was perfect to end the day. The gardens are lovely, I loved all the little paths that went from one part to another ...all different. The house itself was perfect for a large family group, roomy and with all the necessary facilities . We all enjoyed our stay with you, thank you very much x Honiton is a lovely little place, we enjoyed Sidmouth and Killerton, and some of my party visited Agatha Christie’s house Greenway which they were very impressed with. - Bennett - May 2019

8/10 - The one downside to the property was that the bathroom facilities for Bedroom 6 were a long way from the bedroom. Otherwise the property was excellent. The swimming pool and garden were highly appreciated. Diggerland and Pecorama enjoyed by all the family young and old. - Yandell - May 2019

9/10 - The facilities are fantastic. Lovely garden, massive pool and trampoline. The pool was very warm, possibly too warm. The Devon railway center is a charming little place for the kids. Weymouth is less than an hour away for a sandy beach. - Craig-Lowdon - May 2019

9/10 - Everyone enjoyed the pool and lovely gardens and great kitchen diner. Everything supplied that you could possibly need. Lovely helpful owners. Comfortable beds. We had a lovely day in Taunton. - Fielder - May 2019

9/10 - We visited Longleat Safari Park. - Robbins - April 2019

9/10 - Great location, great facilities, beautiful garden, everything you need for a great family holiday. Swimming pool is a real bonus. Day out to Teignmouth, park near to Smugglers Inn and walk in along coast. - Hart - April 2019

10/10 - Culmbridge House was a fabulous venue for our family get together. 18 of us (from 65 yrs to 7 months) thoroughly enjoyed the facilities, from the BBQ hut, to the swimming pool to the garden with trampoline, swings and slide. The house was well equipped and spotlessly clean. the only negative comment is having to be out by a very early 10.00am - the arrival time being a rather late 4.00 pm, 11.00 and 3.00 would have been very welcome! That said... it was still a lovely break and I would recommend it to family and friends. Sleeps 12 also were most helpful and informative and I would definitely be happy to use this company again. We can recommend a day out to Diggerland- Walker - April 2019

10/10 - The pool was fantastic and lovely and warm. As was the sauna! The property was really well kitted-out and cosy. We did a lovely walk up to the Monument. - Barrs - March 2019

10/10 - Warmisham - March 2019

10/10 - Wendy and Roy left a really nice welcome hamper there for us, with tea/coffee/cookies etc. The house was as nice as the photos and the pool and sauna were warm, clean and lots of fun. The outdoor barbecue house went down really well on the Saturday and they provided more than enough wood. Wendy and Roy didn't interfere at all but were contactable if we needed them. The right balance. We would all definitely use again! Nobody had any complaints apart from City boy who said there were no HD leads :). Wellington Town is only 3 miles away, with pubs and a supermarket for supplies. - Drew - March 2019

9/10 - Garden and childrens area good. BBQ hut good fun. Lots of local walks suitable for children. No need to use cars. Need wellies. - Gibbo - March 2019

10/10 - We really enjoyed our stay, all beds were clean comfy. Plenty of firewood for BBQ hut and log fires. Nice feel to the house and Wendy was very welcoming. The welcome pack was a very nice touch nice coffee tee and cookies. The indoor swimming is on the neighbouring owners property but it didn’t phase our party it was an excellent size and set at a constant temp 31 degrees . Very clean and tidy. Would defiantly recommend. Thanks for having us. - Pearce - February 2019

8/10 - It was a difficult week - we had 2 poorly children, one of whom spent 48 hours in the paediatric high dependency unit at Musgrove Park Hospital. We sent a text message to the owner to let her know, using the mobile number that you gave us. She didn't receive it, saying that it must be her husband's number and 'He doesn't look at his phone'. Not much help in an emergency! It's an old house with very creaky floor boards which makes it a noisy house, especially at night when some of the household are up & down dealing with poorly children. Those sleeping in the downstairs bedroom moved out to the back bedroom because of this problem. There were various things which didn't work (neither TV remote control which needed new batteries, and one TV set) - we left this feedback for the owner. The pool was lovely and we didn't mind that it was a short walk from the house. The only days out were when the healthy children went to Diggerland, which they enjoyed, and we went to Knightshayes, which we enjoyed. - Stevens - February 2019

8/10 - House was large enough for 12 good pool although a short walk away. - White - February 2019

9/10 - The house was lovely.  But the downstairs front bedroom shower doors are really difficult to close. - Parker - January 2019

10/10 - The house was just perfect and the swimming pool amazing in fact everything was really good not sure there is anything to improve on would certainly like to return one day. - Wallis - January 2019

9/10 - Everything was as advertised. - Lyons - January 2019

10/10 - We had a great stay celebrating my husbands 50th birthday. Fantastic facilities and Wendy the owner was warm and welcoming. The house was equipped with everything we needed. - Parry - December 2018

8/10 - Thank you for our stay. We would recommend it to others. The house was lovely and we really enjoyed staying there. The shower in the family bathroom upstairs wasn’t working, which was needed for 6 people. However we didn’t raise this as an issue whilst staying. The tap water was unpleasant with yellow baths and showers. We chose to drink bottled water. The pool was amazing, really huge and great fun. However we felt it should be made clear you have to walk along the road to the next property, not just 90 paces from the house. - Barrell - November 2018

Response: "There are 3 external switches to the Bathroom, unfortunately the guests had turned the shower switch off. We do recommend contacting the owner/manager of a property to enable things like this to be swiftly corrected. The water supply for Culmbridge House & surrounding properties are from a private spring. To ensure the water is safe the Local Council  visits the premises and takes approx 6 samples annually for testing, all tests taken have been deemed safe to drink.  However we understand concerns and are happy to supply bottled drinking water if there is a colour change to the water due to exceptional weather conditions." - Owner

10/10 - All our group, particularly the children, enjoyed the on-site facilities. The ponies adjacent to the house were especially atractive to the young females in our group. - Jones - November 2018

8/10 - Lovely house, lovely location, shame you have to walk so far to pool, but the pool is great. Apart from that we loved our stay!! - Cole - October 2018

10/10 - The pool was amazing. We can recommend a day out to Diggerland- Smith - October 2018

9/10 - House was very comfortable for 11 adults and 2 little ones! Loved the pool area. Water was lovely and warm. Pool table was great as was the sauna. Had a great weekend! - Roostan - September 2018

8/10 - Exclusive use of swimming pool. BBQ too far away from house. Not practical for dragging food that distance. Visited Croyde for the day. - Sweet - August 2018

10/10 - Birch - August 2018

9/10 - The swimming pool is excellent and the garden is very nice. Good that they have play area for the children. Only one small problem, no wooden spoons and knife set not great. - Evans - August 2018

10/10 - Fabulous Culmbridge House as good as we remembered and the new Barbecue Hut just made it for us. Absolutely superb addition to the garden. Lovely hosts too. Wildwood Escot was a hit with young and old alike. We only went for an afternoon and next time would allow a day. - Beer - August 2018

9/10 - Primarolo - July 2018

9/10 - We were very pleased all round. The place was perfect for our needs. We were a group of 12 with ages ranging from 3 - 78 and there were activities for all of us. Everyone loved the facilities, especially the pool and garden. The hosts were very helpful and welcoming. We really liked a hike we did; there are several around Hemyock. We enjoyed a day at the beach near Ilfracombe. The kids loved their visit to Diggerland. The kids also loved a day we reserved at Thelma Hulbert Gallery in Honiton. They had a work room and a facilitator to help them do art and crafts. We all enjoyed a great pub lunch also in Honiton. The kids really enjoyed playing around the house, jumping on the trampoline, exploring around the garden, playing fooseball and soccer etc. - O'Conner - July 2018

8/10 - Wonderful property with a very homely atmosphere. Beautiful garden and the pool was excellent. We can recommend days out to Becky FallsWoolacombe BeachJurassic Coast. - Patel - July 2018

8/10 - We had very young children with us and I think the bedrooms should have blackout curtain lining. So getting them to bed and the early waking was a pity. Actually I need a dark room for sleeping also. The owners were warm & friendly but being literally pushed out at 10am is a bit early given the arrival is rather late at 4pm. - O'Conner - July 2018

9/10 - The gardens and swimming pool were amazing. The children loved the 'secret garden' as they called it and were able to hide and play safely. Late night toasting marshmallows in the bbq hut was a real highlight and the house was more than expected. We can recommend Wookey Hole and Cheddar CavesDiggerland brilliant for small children. - Cross - June 2018

9/10 - We particularly enjoyed the facilities and spent the majority of the time in the garden and swimming pool a most enjoyable family reunion which we would recommend. The new barbecue hut was also very good for late night get togethers. We can recommend the walk from car park to Wellington Monument. Walks around Culmbridge House to Hemyock and footpaths. - Blackmore - June 2018

10/10 - We enjoyed the Torbay airshow. - House - June 2018

9/10 - The size of the property meant there was plenty of space for all and it was well kept, good quality furnishing etc and generally provided a good experience. The only down side was that the website should have mentioned the swimming pool and pool table were not actually within the property grounds but had a to walk out of the drive, and onto a separate property. That said the swimming pool was great. Crealy Adventure Park was good for under 10's. Wildwood Escot was good for day out. Others enjoyed walks at nearby Seaton and Beer. Othewise just nice being together and enjoying the break. - White - May 2018

9/10 - The house was beautiful, comfortable and well equipped although the barbecue was not terribly accessible the weekend we stayed. The floorboards are very noisy, especially upstairs. The swimming pool was great and enjoyed by all.- Rickard - May 2018

10/10 - We loved Culmbridge House. Perfect for our extended family weekend away. Clean, large, kids loved the garden and pool- Strange - April 2018

9/10 - The pool area was brilliant. We all went in for a swim 4yrs to 91yrs. The pool was big and very warm. Each bedroom and ensuite was well equipped and spacious. And we enjoyed being able to sit and eat together at the large table in the kitchen/diner. We would have given 10/10 had the washing machine/tumbler dryer in the utility room been functioning as they should have. Thank you for a wonderful holiday. We had 2 under 8's and enjoyed our days out to 1) Lyme Regis 2) Devon Railway Centre. - Higgs - April 2018

8/10 - We were a party of mixed ages so the pool was a real bonus. The play area could be made a little better/safer. The house was beautifully warm and cosy and very child friendly with all the equipment you could possibly need. However, I think it could benefit from a little updating. The provision of tea, coffee, biscuits, Easter eggs and flowers was a lovely touch.- Hillidge - March 2018

8/10 - Lovely stay, lots of space. The photos were a little misleading as we expected the interior of the property to be a lot more modern than they were in reality.- Capel - March 2018

9/10 - Wendy was most helpful to get the bed sorted for my mother in law thanks. Pool dehumidifier should have been on and the heating of the pool on the Sunday as it was cooler than on Saturday. Did the owners know we were staying till 4pm as they popped in at 10am to say we could stay on?- Spinks - March 2018

9/10 - For parents with babies using your travel cots they need to know to bring a travel cot mattress with them because the base of your travel cots are too hard without a mattress or further padding of some kind. we enjjoyed a walk at the Otter Head ValleyCreese Family - February 2018

10/10 - The house was immaculate and had everything we needed, even a nice welcome pack with tea, coffee and biscuits which was welcomed! The owners were very friendly and helpful. Recommend Sidmouth which is a lovely seaside town. Smith Family - February 2018

10/10 - The house was fantastic, very comfortable and well equipped. Wendy (our host) was lovely and could not have been more helpful, but left us to enjoy our break. The pool was a fantastic addition and we spent several hours a day in it! We would definitely consider renting the house again. - Greenhales Family - New Year 2017

9/10 - The house was perfect for a mixed age group such as ourselves. The separate living spaces were an advantage and we rather liked some of the old style furnishings. The ensuite downstairs bedroom a retreat for grandparents but, as already mentioned larger beds in the double rooms would be welcomed. The swimming pool was a particular favourite and all agreed that the separate and larger location rather added to the experience. All thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and certainly would return. - Wheeler Family - Christmas 2017

9/10 - The house was lovely and the owners were fab. They'd had an issue on the last check out but had it sorted within a few hours of us being there. Would also recommend Gayla - she cooked a meal for a special occasion and it was delicious. We would recommend a trip to Bear Trail, Cullompton if you dont mind getting messy! - House Family - December 2017

10/10 - The pool was a great hit with the children. We only stayed for a weeekend but if we had more time Woolabombe beach is a great place to go. - Moore Family - November 2017

10/10 - The house was fantastic and well equipped and the owner was very helpful. Everything was provided for the toddlers that came with us. Stairgates at both the bottom and the top of the stairs, high chair, potty etc! And we loved the pool! Everything was just great. So much that we didn't leave the house for three days! - Fleming Family - November 2017

8/10 - The large swimming pool complex was a big bonus. We went to the Jurassic Coast for a day out too. - Truscott Family - November 2017

10/10 - Loved everything - FAB weekend! Loved days out to Diggerland. wonderful for all ages and we had a lovely walk at Wellington Monument in sun dappled beech woods! - Jones Family - October 2017

9/10 - We enjoyed our stay. The pool was great and we had a great time. - Garland Party - September 2017

10/10 - We enjoyed our stay. Lovely house, beautifully presented.  - Thomas Group - September 2017

10/10 - The stay was fantastic, I would only visit again if I didn't need to leave the property as the location was in the middle of nowhere! But the house was beautiful and the advantage of having the swimming pool was great. We visited Sidmouth and Weston-Super-Mare was worth a visit. - Robinson Family - September 2017

9/10 - Great pool, lovely owners. Recommend Croyde Beach, Tarr Steps for a walk and Charmouth for fossils! - Humm Family - August 2017

10/10 - The whole experience was great and the swimming pool really good. It may be impossible to do now but the pool could be shallower to make it easier for small children! We'd recommend days out to Bicton Gardens and Lyme Regis.  - Wright Family - July 2017

9/10 - Everyone enjoyed the pool and the spacious house. I don't think there was any thing you could do to improve it. Thank you. We visited Miniature Pony Centre, Tiverton Horse Drawn Barge and Budleigh Salterton, although all were quite a drive. - Smith Family 

9/10 - The space and comfort of the house were excellent. The play equipment and pool were perfect for the children. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. We visited Cothay Manor, Sidmouth and Beer and went on lots of local walks.  - Pearson - April 2017

9/10 - House very well equipped. Owners extremely helpful and flexible.  - Mr Stratford - April 2017

10/10 - We had an absolutely perfect time. Nothing could have been better. Very relaxing. The pool is amazing and the house itself is incredible. - Shepherd - March 2017

10/10 - Friendly owner....great house, garden and pool. - Palmer - Feb 2017

9/10 - Good location for the coast and National Trust property Knighthayes Court. Swimming pool and games facilities were excellent. The high specification of the bedrooms was fabulous.  - Higgins - Feb 2017

A lovely and relaxing week. Wonderful place to spend Christmas. Thank You! - Kowalchuk - Toronto, Canada

We have had a brilliant family holiday and would recommend Culmbridge House to anybody. Grandparents and two families including four children (8, 6, 6 and 4 years old) fitted in easily. We could all "do our own thing" if we wished.  The highlight was the swimming pool: it was huge, warm, surrounded by antislip carpet and had its own changing room. - Mrs Pattinson - Harpenden

Every single aspect of our stay was excellent. Surrounding countryside is beautiful and great walks started right from the front door. Indoor pool is warm and large enough for a good swim or silly games. House was warm and friendly with large rooms just great for partying. Everything we needed was there and in good condition. Roll on next year! - Mr Walden - Northampton

We had a lovely stay thanks. I thought the house was fantastic, beautifully maintained and also very well equipped. We had a great time there and really enjoyed our stay. - Roz - Putney

NB: Anything mentioned in feedback which required attention and has since been rectified will be removed from the feedback so that future guests are not misinformed. - Sleeps12.com

Return to Culmbridge House

HIDE